Monday, February 3, 2014

Day 4 and 5

I am not stopping today at day 5, I am going to keep going.  I have made it this far, I am going to shoot for 10 days.  Well and the plan is to continue what I am doing and then add in whole produce, veggies, fruits, salad, etc.  I am going to eat as much plant based food as possible.  

Yesterday, day 4, was really a breeze.  I am not longer craving anything.  I just drink a juice and water when I feel hungry.  I even left the house for about 4 hours and was fine.  Which is huge for me.  I don't like to self diagnose but I do get symptoms of low blood sugar.  When my body needs food, it needs it now.  I get shaky, dizzy, and very angry. Haha.  I always have when I am going to eat planned out.  If I am going somewhere, I have to know when we will be eating, I have to know where my next meal is coming from, because if I don't eat it can be really bad.  So before leaving the house yesterday, I drank a juice and was fine until we got home.  I think my body is finally getting all the nutrients that it needs from the plant based food I have been putting into my body.  My body doesn't have to freak out anymore, because it is getting what it is asking for.

Many people have been asking me what I have been putting in my juices.  I have mainly been following rebootwithjoe.com.  Joe Cross is the guy who created, "Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead."  On his website, there are tons of recipes and plans for juicing.  But I have adaped my own sort of plan.  Sometimes I think his juices just have too much sugar in them.  Really you can juice whatever produce you like.  It isn't always going to taste great, but it is always fun to experiment.  I like to keep it at about 80% vegetables and 20% fruit, maybe even 90/10.  I guess the best thing is to get creative and have a variety.  Joe always says to eat the rainbow.  Eat all sorts of different colors.

These past five days, I have mostly stuck to liquified produce.  I have had one smoothie a day and the rest juices.  I don't know what to say about juice vs smoothies.  I do think smoothies are better for you, you get the WHOLE food.  But there is something to be said about the juice and getting those nutrients into your body ASAP.  I have decided that I like to do both.  The juices are a lot easier to drink, they taste better.  The smoothie, is hard sometimes.  I put mostly veggies into my smoothies and they usually taste like grass and the texture is like slop.  But it makes me feel good and it gets those veggies into my diet.

I don't like vegetables, but I can drink them.  And the more that I drink them, the more that they look good to eat.  I really can't wait to eat a huge salad, with all of the veggie trimmings.  One of the major points of the cleanse has been to show myself that I can do it.  I can say no to foods.  I can survive on plant based foods.  And that it makes me healthier, stonger, and happier.

No comments:

Post a Comment